Skip to content

Ishmael: The Takers and the Law of Limited Competition

September 10, 2009

I still have a batch of quotes to paste as a blog post.  I hate that I’ve been doing that, because I hate it when people create blogs only to forward news without adding anything of value themselves, so I’m almost done.  The reason I’ve been doing it is basically just so I don’t forget I have a blog.  I feel like I need to remember it because sometimes I forget about it for a month and, at this moment, I need something to keep my mind occupied so I don’t go crazy.  I have two pretty involved additions to make to this blog that I’m working on—one that requires a lot of reading and contextualizing, and another that requires a lot of quoting, linking, and explaining—but they might be another week off, so instead I’m posting this.

A few days ago I started to re-read Ishmael by Daniel Quinn.  Today I’m posting the eighth chapter, what I remember to be my favorite chapter (although I won’t know for sure until I’m finished).  This chapter explains almost everything that is wrong with Taker culture in a neat 23 pages.  If I could get my loved ones to read just 23 pages from any text and expect them to understand the predicament industrial civilization has gotten itself into, these 23 pages would be the ones I would pick.  And with that, here they are.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 12:55 pm

    How can I get into contact with you outside of this site?

Trackbacks

  1. One Foot On the Edge | The Dredge Cycle

Leave a Reply

